Some hedgehogs are quite messy, and they need baths often while others clean them up well. Keep pouring water over a hedgehog's rear till all the shampoo has been rinsed away. Both of these have thicker particles. A: Itchiness is a sign of mites in hedgehogs. You should clean your hedgehog to avoid mites. 2. I started this site after seeing a friends looking after a baby hedgehog and how interesting was to care for it. Put Your Hedgehog In The Sink And Give Them A Moment. If you notice there is still excess dirt in your hedgehogs quills, take a soft-bristled toothbrush and gently scrub the quills. Massage and Rinse Out Completely; 5.5 . 8. . Often chinchilla sand is recommended as the best for this purpose, but many are against it since it is quite fine with tiny particles that could get into and damage the hedgehogs organs. Images that are not under our Copyrights are published with the respective owners authorization. Although I have a Master's degree in computer science from Jiwaji University, what excites me is my passion for these cute animals. Feel free to do this if you want though! Also, you must be extremely careful with the shampoo. Put a towel in warm water mixed with soap (make sure the water is not too hot or cold), and then massage the hedgehog with this towel soaked in water. Search our database of over 12348 posts with up-to-date information from our experts and veterinarians. Hedgehogs are generally clean pets, but they do still require occasional baths. You won't believe what you are seeing or smelling at the end of the cycle. Can you use dawn to clean windows? Then start brushing the hedgehog with a toothbrush or one of our recommended brushes below. Spray the stained area liberally and let it soak for 10-15 minutes. This is especially important for young hedgies as they are more prone to pneumonia than older ones. If its an average-sized cloth then youll probably want to fold it. Hedgehogs with dry skin should not be frequently bathed as it can t