The shooting on that day changed the trajectory of our experience at school. Legendary Irish rocker Bob Geldof described how he felt as the news broke on the sad day. As a teacher, my job was first to make sure my students were safe. I shot a pig (cop) I think and I want to shoot more. In the Robb Elementary School shooting, 18-year-old Salvador Ramos open fire and killed 19 fellow students and 2 teachers, wounding many other individuals, including his . California Assembly members had met after the shooting to respond to the incident, and they passed the Assault Weapons Control Act, which was the first legislative restriction on assault weapons in the nation and served as a model for a similar federal statute in 1994. When it did happen for me, I was in 10th grade. This livens up the day. This inspired the Boomtown Rats to write the smash hit I Don't Like Mondays. On January 29, 1979, 16-year-old Brenda Spencer opened fire on the. A 16-year-old girl, Brenda Spencer, who lived in a house across the street from the school, was convicted of the shootings. West View Elementary School is an above average, public school located in GARNER, NC. , Your email address will not be published. I was in the library, where much of the violence took place. Her 20-minute shooting spree claimed the lives of the school's principal, Burton Wragg, 53, who was struck while trying to help wounded kids, and caretaker Mike Suchar, 56, who attempted to rescue his boss. She started her shooting rampage from her bedroom window, randomly aiming her gun at kids who were waiting to enter the playground. The incident resulted in a total of 5 children being killed. Website. Brenda Spencers classmates describe her as a tomboy and a gun nut who had difficulty adjusting to life. The other wounded youngsters were treated and released. The incident remains under investigation. cleveland.com. Spencer blazed away with rifle shots from her . A petition filed Wednesday in Juvenile Court by the district atto