58,222 / yr. That also means you have to be very solid on the fundamentals though. They would never be regarded as natural stablemates. . Thats why virtual conferences will never be a good replacement. Csaba Szepesvari, So if there is somebody that can empathize with newcomers to this field thats me. Thats my formal education. My , [Statistics] YouTube videos (channels such as. Adhi Kuncoro, Very similar in structure to the above interview. DeepMind was acquired by Google in 2014. I now work as a research engineer at Google DeepMind on visual language models and multimodal learning in general. Proven experience, either in industry or a research lab, working on complex ML problems and engineering workflows. $72,000.00, Quantitative Researcher (Machine Learning), Inclusive Design Researcher (US-based freelance), $80,000.00 Press J to jump to the feed. I was sitting there with students that were 2 years younger than me. If you go to a good CS research university, try finding a professor who has connections to the team and get a student research job in his/her lab. If you do algorithms & DS for 1 year consistently I guarantee you must get a job at FAANG. Dileep George, Universal Agent Mixtures and the Geometry of Intelligence, Samuel Allen Alexander *, It was either that or I wouldnt get the job. It's nothing advanced and you don't have to be a grad student to pass. - Applying AI toward discovering new insights in two areas of pure mathematics: topology and representation theory. My main takeaway is I really need to reimplement stuff more, I knew that already but hopefully this gives the extra motivation needed. Shrinu Kushagra, Dr Daniela Huppenkothen, Research Scientist, SRON Netherlands Institute for Space Research Anil Kulkarni, Senior Software Engineer, Facebook Stanislav Nikolov, Research Engineer, DeepMind Salma Abdel Magid, PhD Student in CS, Harvard University Sarah Drinkwater, Omidyar Network Leon Derczynski, IT University of Copenhagen Lucy Li, PhD student .